Leander

You rest in some Dardanellean tower,
And I imagine you at your sacred tasks,
The ablutions you make from hour to hour,
Before wrapping the veils of your masks.
Yet a tumultuous gulf is between us
And its dark waters swirl with menace,
So if diving I am tossed and aimless,
A high price may I pay in penance.
But if you light your lamp to guide my way
I may pursue that golden, flaming star
Waiting on the shore for me to say
A word brought to you from that shore afar.
And if your flame to your chamber bids us,
There dim the lamp — your soul is light enough.

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

One comment on “Leander

  1. Beth says:

    Dios. It’s so beautiful.

Leave a Reply

