Our Last

This will be your last poem
When I say goodbye
When I speak of love forever
Until the day I die.

But you’ll forget me;
Maybe one day I’ll forget you too
And one day there will be a day
When I’ll never think of you.

I won’t think of you when I’m walking home
I won’t even think of you in my prayers
And wherever I am whenever I am
I won’t picture you there.

But maybe you will remember—
I almost want it so,
That every day there will be a moment
When you recall what you let go.

So fare thee well and all of that
I must be on my way,
I must head towards my tomorrow
And you’re my yesterday.

One comment on “Our Last

  1. Beth says:

    This is like my own heart speaking.

    Beautiful one, Rafael.

Leave a Reply

