Nocturne

In the afternoon my thoughts turn to you,
You with the dark eyes, rosy cheeks, quiet lips,
You who makes my days and nights anew,
You for whom I long, you whom I miss;
But we must love by night and not by day,
Unless we love in some quiet shadow
Or slip away, eloped to some far meadow,
Or go to where our names are far away.
By day I keep our secret in my heart
(I love you in the shadows of my heart)
And yet I long to make our secret known
If only in a quiet, private art
Whispered through a veil when we are alone.
I watch the sun and yearn for darkness and moonlight.

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

