On politics

I think perhaps it’s not so bad
This politic, this raging fad:
Some views agree with my beliefs,
At least they have some nice motifs.
But before I join the grand old man
I speak with a Republican
And despite this and despite that
I fair better with a Democrat.

I agree and object as much
With both, each lack the common touch:
One, too liberal with what’s good;
The other won’t change what he should.
But I think no one has more right
To bask in Columbia’s light
No matter what they speak or wear;
I think that nothing else is fair.

The elephant long lost his way
And is too angry or too grey.
And till they leave Muslims alone
I think I’ll leave them to their own:
I like the thoughts that they once wove
But Republicans themselves I loathe.
So I pray that through this impasse
Triumphs the Democratic ass.
They may not all be my kind of men
But they’ll have to do for now. Amen.

Leave a Reply

