Taboo

I washed your dark curls of hair in a sink.
You did not know, I hope you never do
And that is why the water ran with ink;
Perhaps my mind will wash the image too.
You were unaware that I had found you
With naked wreaths of hair, unbuttoned shirt,
And a smile, a simple smile, bathed in blue;
You were truly beautiful and it hurt.
I could only gasp in shock and avert
Eyes from the horror of that lovely scene,
But that I found this picture might assert
Some cruelty in Fate’s two-fingered machine.
With a lover’s care, with pain and dismay
I caressed your hair, washing it away.

Featured on the Court of Lions.

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

One comment on “Taboo

  1. Abul Layth says:

    May Allah save us! Amin!

Leave a Reply

