Le scélérat a ses vertus, comme l'honnête homme a ses faiblesses.

It is not so easy a thing to love
Me, I am scattered and many shaded
And give and take thereof.

You might not think I am too far above
Being cruel when I am scorned and jaded;
It is not so easy a thing to love.

You may hate me then, you may push and shove,
Leave nothing of me but leave it upbraided,
And give and take thereof.

I deserve it all: tooth, nail, hand and glove,
Rack me if pain for pain must be traded;
It is not so easy a thing to love.

I was eager for you who deeply dove
In your oceans, in your waters waded
And give and take thereof.

Rising filled with you I am filled with love;
Think me harsh but know my love’s unfaded
(It is not so easy a thing to love)
And give and take thereof.

Leave a Reply

