Waking Alone

When I wake to the emptiness of my
Life without you, when I feel the lack of you,
When having wearied of churning the sky
Birds serenade the twilight or else coo
And gently entice me awake from my
Dreaming of moments unfulfilled with you,
Some hour yet unburned beneath a dark sky
Waiting to roar and pounce, to hold and coo;
It is then, when to the emptiness of my
Life I wake, frightened with the thought of you,
The you that kept me until the dawn sky
Broke, when our secrets were sung with the coo
Of collared doves, it is then I think of you
Dancing in sunlight, it is then I miss you.

Collared Dove song.

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

