Boll Weevil's Prayer

My Lord, I am now through
And at the end of hope abide.
I cannot but displease You
Unless rescued from sin and pride.

Save me, Lord, I am weak
And cannot for the life of me
Rise from sin to virtue seek:
The doors are barred without Your key.

Lord! Lord! Dear God, mercy
Is all I have to vouch for me.
Lord! Lord! Dear God, kill me not
Nor throw me in those fires hot.

Lord, my Lord, stay the fires
Burning from all my vain desires.
Let not them chariots
Swing down and grind my bones to dust.

O Lord, the ladder’s fall
Is hardest on those who climb tall.

This entry was posted in Hymns.

Leave a Reply

