Moment by Moment

Let my touch roll across you
Like water on a fevered brow.
Let yourself blossom petal by petal
And let me show you how.
Leave the heedless to their ways
Let them consummate their joys,
I would have you note by note
To savour than all their noise.
Do mountain snows all thaw at once
And race roaring to the river?
The patient sweetness gained drop by drop
Is the honey that makes me quiver.
I would wait breath by breath:
To sip gifts life, to drown is death.

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

