Cup

For whose sake I burn who this place did empty,
The heart that yearns with tears does not empty.

There have been, it is true, others, but few,
Who sat in this place that now lies empty.

But compared, my student, with those that went
Thou art more who proves their vain vows empty.

My platonic romance, thou by a glance
Can make content what sorrow made empty.

But the lesson must resume – pray it be soon!
For that which never left my heart empty.

So while here I wait I pray thou make haste
Before the fountain runs dry and empty.

If thou succeed I may surpass thy need,
And may give that which never shall empty.

Leave a Reply

