212

It is cold to-night and I wrap myself

In a blanket of alpaca wool green

Like so many memories on my shelf

To remind me of places and times seen.

These memories wrap my cold loneliness

As this green blanket once draped around her

In the wild chill of the dark wilderness –

How fragile in those fleeting times we were!

But now gone, the smoke and fire blown away,

The warmth of your touch, your voice beside me

Is left behind to ashes and decay;

And what was can now only in thought be.

But the cold wild and windy nights remain

With a blanket’s warmth against chill and pain.

 

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

