202

Why love? a question I cannot forsake
And I have loved the veiled and the brazen
Whose names I have hoarded like some poor drake
Wary of an evil watching raven.
O Evil Eye look not on me or mine
For there is little to be jealous of
But glittering lies from a cup of wine,
So leave me to the headaches of my love.
O I have endured, indeed, I endured!
Perhaps I would have been happier slain
Before I was to this caravan lured
To be stranded in the gutters of pain!
O but love is on that same road prancing
To show a pinhead of angels dancing!

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

