162

Did you hear the heart? did it not beat a song?
Do you know what caused that art, the pain of that song?

Is this the mark of melody I see
As tiny tears follow where flew this song?

Is this pallid hue to bid the world adieu
Or is it stricken merely with a song?

Indeed it seems his soul might melt away,
But he is enthralled by the realm of song.

Song sings within a man, plays the notes inside him;
He need not know one note to hear the song.

All the woe he feels can a song conceal
As easily as is revealed in a song?

How many have I fathered in this world
And waiting in my womb, how many songs?

And if rest I or dream or pause to die
Who would I miss or sing for me a song?

Leave a Reply

