A Berkelian Sonnet

Thy fair face, thine ebullient celestial eyes
Look to me and I am alive and free;
The touch of thy tender hand, my soul flies
To heaven’s holy heights for love of thee.
The sun’s gaze blooms a thousand blossums;
The sea silvers by the light of the moon;
The mystic longs to see himself as one,
And His Glance shall bless us all one day soon.
And if thy glance should turn away from me
And thine lovely eyes regard me no more,
Dark despair would devour all this beauty;
Life would be drained and empty without thee, amour.
For if thy love would cease to perceive me
Then I fear I would fade and cease to be.

August 11, 2006

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

