Along the Shores of Locarno

Beneath a tree by the lakeside I sit,
Again and again are the pebbles kissed
And others lie in stacks I made to fit
While thinking of what the stones had that I missed.
A crown of mountains rests around the lake,
I sit upon its shore to contemplate
And think such thoughts as to make my heart quake
From the depths of hearts to the truth of fate.
I lie upon my back and upwards gaze:
There, a horse, a myth, a man sail past,
There a woman in sweet ecstasy lays;
But how long do these gods and phantoms last?
A gentle wind blows and before I weep
I close my eyes and here I fall asleep.

August 04, 2006

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

