Wish

Querida, I have known you as of late,
And newly acquainted this may seem strange
(With me having so little to relate)
And perhaps a little bit out of range.
But stay a while, this will not be that long –
No longer than any other sonnet –
And these meager words I feel do belong
To such a lady as I have newly met:
Unlike most here who, as I apprehend,
See me only as an exotic show,
You foremost have treated me as a friend
So I thank you for your kindly hellos.
Natalia, there is little more to say
Except I wish you a happy birthday.

September 01, 2005

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

