The Lover Reflects Again

The paradox that I am sadly in
That my verses never end where they begin
Has called me to withdraw and contemplate
About the nature of this love I hate
For when I turn my heart to the Divine
My passions back to earthly depths decline!
Whichever way I seek to point my love,
Whether to mortal realms or heaven above
It then changes to a wayward course and so,
My love for one shrinks to the other grows.
Both loves seemed mixed if not united
Enriched by the counter-part invited
And while I seek to meet both with love’s content
I find the both are One – and I am spent!

22 March 2005

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

