Sympathy for a Friend

Hush now my darkling, dusk is upon us.
O my sad-eyed wonder, rest your poor heart;
Turn every thought towards this quietus
And let your sorrows and your conscience part
Rest calmy for tonight I am with you
My hand is here for you to hold upon
For even if all the world forsakes you
I shall still be here from this moment on.
So drink deeply now from this dark chalice
And fade away with me to nothingness;
Let all your sorrows succomb to a kiss
As if life was made of nothing less.
So lay down your despair and softly hush
For now my dear the night is upon us.

December 28, 2004

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

