III

Do not speak to me of sorrow
Nor the time that it has borrow’d
Speak only to me of now and
The great promise of tomorrow!

Shed not a tear for my poor sake
Least some old memory you wake;
Life may be formed from yesterdays
But it breathes with today at stake.

So rest your guilt and your regret
In my arms, slowly to forget
The Shadows that we once feared
Would our companionship upset.

Rest now,
For each forgiveness paid by lip
My Heart gave a thousand before it.

December 8, 2004

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

