Echo

Forgive me; for somewhere in our endeavours
To rid the world of cold convention,
I caught a glance that spoke of love forever
And saw a path to wondrous dimensions.

Perhaps it was those warm fawn-like eyes
Which bound me deep within your thrall?
Or else the cloying autumn’s enduring guise
That led me to reject a wiser call.

But oh sweet Love! I am still forever yours;
And if I have not your love’s requital,
I can join faint Echo by this sad shore
And gently fade into the night I shall.

This entry was posted in Sonnets.

Leave a Reply

