Ode to a Voice

I see you open your tender loving lips
Words spring forth,
No, not words
More like a softly murmured kiss
Glowing like a song,
That hovers in the frost

Slowly swaying towards my ears
I hear a gentle blessing
I feel a silky carress
Gliding down my cheek like starry tears
It slides with soothing grace
And annoits me with peace

Such a voice is like an echoed prayer
Rising with the smoke
To ease my pains
But you sound hoarse i’th murky air
And must whisper softly
Those same weary tunes

One day you shall sing to me clearly
When you know that I’ll love you dearly

Febraury 10, 2003

Leave a Reply

